Friday, June 2, 2023 4:47 pm

Karnataka Assembly Election: Voting for 224 Seats began from 7 AM and will continue till 6 PM

Related News

Karnataka Assembly Election voting started today in a single phase for 224 seats and results will be announced on May 13 as  the current term will end on 24th May 2023.

According to information from the Election Commission up until the deadline for filing nominations, 3,632 candidates submitted their names for the May 10 Karnataka Assembly elections. There are a total of 5,31,33,054 electors entitled to vote at the 58,545 polling places located throughout the State. 2,67,28,053 men, 2,64,00,074 women, and 4,927 “others” make up the electorate, while 2,430 men, 184 women, and one person of a third gender make up the running mates.

The major political parties in anticipation for the next Assembly elections, the ruling BJP, the Congress, the Janata Dal (Secular), and the Aam Aadmi Party have all presented their respective manifestos. The Vokkaligas, the major land-owning community in the Old Mysore region where the Janata Dal (Secular) and its longtime adversary Congress rule the roost, were the focus of much of the political activity in Karnataka in the run-up to the elections.

Latest News